It’s time to punish this thing!!

Greetings from Tate’s room. Uncle Greg (also affectionately known by me as “Uncle HAM”) has had a good day!! He didn’t get much sleep because he was poked at quite a bit throughout the night….but he was still in great spirits.

The day started at 7:45 am with a Pet Scan. This test will help Doctors have a comprehensive view of all his insides. That went well….and the Pulmonary doctor just told us that we should know more from that tomorrow. Then he took a little nap while pretending not to watch VH1 reality shows with me. LOL!! I was trying to keep the volume low….and I thought I heard him say “Ash….turn these silly women off” but come to find out he said “Ash….turn these silly women up.” Love it!!

He had lots of visitors today. The Hospital Chaplain came back and when she left the room….Uncle Greg and I agreed that she’s pretty cool. He took a walk with Maureen and Hannah, and had 3 delicious cups of his favorite thing. Coffee. Now….of course….he’s watching Law & Order. Of course!! πŸ™‚

Tomorrow is going to be his first day of Radiation and Chemotherapy. He’ll start everything early in the morning….and will go until pretty late….so it’s going to be a long day. Karen will be here bright and early in the morning….and I will be here through the night. Our evening program lineup includes the episode of Smash that I promised him we would watch together (LOL) and Modern Family. I will report back tomorrow on how he is feeling.

Julia said it best….I don’t know that I’ve ever seen anyone who is loved so fiercely. But he also loves very fiercely in return. He tells me continuously that I’m a “sister of mercy” (as only Uncle Greg would say) and has told me that he is happy we’re all here. The strong support that this fierce group of family and friends has will help him fight this thing….and as his Doctor said the other day “we’re going to punish it”. πŸ™‚

With lots and lots of love –

Ash (Uncle Greg’s special nickname for me) πŸ™‚

  1. #1 by JoAnne Bauer on February 22, 2012 - 3:13 am

    All the best to you.

  2. #2 by Keiko on February 22, 2012 - 7:11 am

    Dear Greg,
    I am thinking of you and yes praying for you. I love you fiercely too. You kick this thing into next year! And enjoy and love the now with all your peeps around you. I wish I could be there. O.K. Greggy Butt…Big virtual hug…Keiko,(or as your Mom called me, Little Bit.)XXXOOO

  3. #3 by Anonymous on February 22, 2012 - 10:31 am

    Good to hear. Shalom–from the Holy Land. I’ll put a note into the Western Wall…(actually, I think you can do it from there). elinore

  4. #4 by Lucy Rosenblatt on February 22, 2012 - 12:43 pm

    Yesterday you were poked and prodded all day, woken up in the middle of the night, run through a PET scan and yet you were apologizing to me for not being a good host. As I left I shook my finger at you and made you promise not to waste one second worrying about that- because I knew you would. That’s just one of the many reasons I love you. Today’s the big day. I will be visualizing those cancer cells being “punished” (and we’re not just talking about a “time out”) as I go about my day. And I’ll see you later

  5. #5 by Elvy Stepinoff on February 22, 2012 - 12:59 pm

    Thinking of you!

  6. #6 by Tim Black on February 22, 2012 - 9:57 pm

    Thanks so much for this blog. Mary and I are headed to New York for a conference tomorrow and it is so wonderful to know we can just click on and see how the chemo/rad is going, and feel connected to you-all. Indeed, let’s punish this f***ing thing. Peace out. tim

Leave a Reply

