Slap That Rascal!

“Be always drunken.
Nothing else matters:
that is the only question.
If you would not feel
the horrible burden of Time
weighing on your shoulders
and crushing you to the earth,
be drunken continually.

Drunken with what?
With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you will.
But be drunken.

And if sometimes,
on the stairs of a palace,
or on the green side of a ditch,
or in the dreary solitude of your own room,
you should awaken
and the drunkenness be half or wholly slipped away from you,
ask of the wind,
or of the wave,
or of the star,
or of the bird,
or of the clock,
of whatever flies,
or sighs,
or rocks,
or sings,
or speaks,
ask what hour it is;
and the wind,
wave,
star,
bird,
clock will answer you:
“It is the hour to be drunken!”
Charles Baudelaire, Paris Spleen

I wanted to do write this first entry with something that sings nearly as beautifully as all the wishes. thoughts.prayers and energies that I have read since this blog began a few nights ago. If anything lays out my life energy in song it is this Baudelaire.

I am home.  Wearing clothes instead of Johnny and Jammy pants.  No hoses in the arms.  The angels of mercy are my home girls, not the nurses.  No rap om the nurses. They were professional and competent, warm and attentive,  I actually miss them.  But it’s great be home.  Home is medicine. Like everyone’s out pouring of love and strength in this blog.

I thank you all so much.

My oncologist is aggressive about fighting this disease.  Aggressive in a very funny (ha,ha) sort of way.  Which is why we have the title “Slap That Rascal”!  Mr. Tumor is being slapped five times a week with radiation, 3 times a week with chemo every 3 weeks plus many chapters of Bernie Siegal and Dr. Cornel Wilde on healing through foods and spirit!

Once again I thank you all for your support.

It’s odd but it feels like I am here with you, so powerful is your support that I feel that we are all one in this.  So I feel confident in assuring you that I/we are going to Slap That Rascal into remission.

 

With my love,

Tate/Greg/U.G.

  1. #1 by Elvy Stepinoff on February 25, 2012 - 11:41 pm

    You Bet we Will! Slap that Racal and make him run!! Warm hugs and strong vibes go out to you.
    🙂

  2. #2 by Selma on February 25, 2012 - 11:49 pm

    Keep on slapping that rascal every chance you get and I bet you he will fly away.

    Glad you are home and out of the johnny pants.

    I am still praying for you.

  3. #3 by Rebecca G. on February 25, 2012 - 11:50 pm

    That’s right, you slap it! Thx for the beautiful poem & update. We are thinking of you & send healing vibes. Much love, RI Ginsburgs

  4. #4 by Anonymous on February 26, 2012 - 12:11 am

    WELCOME HOME!!! And be drunken with everything and everyone you love. It’ll make you a stronger slapper.

    Wishing you well, and much love,

    Nina

  5. #5 by Anonymous on February 26, 2012 - 12:58 am

    Singing! Loudly! Ooooooohhhhhh, what do you say to a drunken sailor, what do you say to a drunken sailor, what do you say to a drunken saiiiiiiiilooooor, ear-laih in the mornin’!!!!!

    xoxoxo bons, darrel, mino

  6. #6 by Mri on February 26, 2012 - 12:59 am

    Absolutely beautiful Tate. We are going to slap that rascal to smithereens.
    Love you Tate.

  7. #7 by Velina Brown on February 26, 2012 - 1:10 am

    The Racal Is On Notice
    No light tippity tappin,
    but with gum poppin and snappin,
    even when you’re nappin you still
    be slappin,
    with fierce blows over lappin
    that crazy ass rascal who is quickly graspin
    it’s just about time time go.

    • #8 by Anonymous on February 26, 2012 - 2:40 am

      Velina I love it! I feel a song in the works. Mind if send this to Martin Carillo (remember him?).

      • #9 by Velina Brown on February 28, 2012 - 7:38 pm

        Yes, I remember Martin. Feel free to send it wherever you like.
        Tell him I said hi.
        Hugs.

  8. #10 by Anonymous on February 26, 2012 - 2:48 am

    Beautiful Tate. My thoughts and prayers and my whole congregation are with you slapping that rascal.
    Donna

  9. #11 by JoAnne Bauer on February 26, 2012 - 4:42 am

    Also glad you’re home. Great poem!

  10. #12 by Rachel on February 26, 2012 - 8:22 am

    What a wonderful poem, and sentiment. Thank you Tate. A line I think of a lot is from Mary Oliver: “My work is loving the world.” That’s what you do, and in that work you’ve helped build a community/family like no other. Nice work. Thinking of you lots.

  11. #13 by Junie on February 26, 2012 - 2:17 pm

    Never mind “Slap that Rascal,” but Beat the Shit Out of Him!!! Lots of warm hugs!

  12. #14 by Nora on February 26, 2012 - 2:55 pm

    Sounds like a good plan.

  13. #15 by Anonymous on February 26, 2012 - 4:29 pm

    Dear Tate,
    Anyone with all that song in your heart is going to slap that rascal good nd hard
    What a moving poem our heart sings with you and hopes with you and cheers for you
    All our love , Amy and Eliot

  14. #16 by Martin on February 26, 2012 - 4:44 pm

    Julia just let me know what’s been going on, … I read this latest post, and I can’t imagine a better attitude. I would have guessed you’d be facing it down. The good energies come from the West coast too… Much Much love to all of you, and to you most of all Tate. Hugs. I’m going to be following along and will be looking forward to the good news… and to being “drunk” with you in whatever way again…

  15. #17 by Laurie McCants on February 26, 2012 - 4:48 pm

    Thanks for the poem! And your Dionysian spirit! To life! L’chaim!

  16. #18 by Sally on February 26, 2012 - 6:29 pm

    Thanks for that amazing poem, Greg! So glad you are home. Spoke your name in worship at Immanuel this morning, hope you felt the vibes!

  17. #19 by Ginny Gill on February 26, 2012 - 8:52 pm

    You’ve always known what to say to make me feel better…Once again you have…You can bet I am on your team sending love and prayers and Tate ya know for being one of “the smallest, whitest woman I’ve ever known” you said a along time ago, I’m a good one to have on your team… Now let’s kick some ass!!! Love you
    Gin

  18. #20 by lobonick on February 27, 2012 - 12:30 am

    a beautiful poem.. i am taking it to heart…

  19. #21 by susan and jay on February 27, 2012 - 1:49 am

    Home — it’s good medicine. And Dr. Baudelaire knew something about the art of living — at least to give advice.
    The audience is cheering — and you know how to act!

  20. #22 by Keiko on February 27, 2012 - 4:36 pm

    Dear Greg,
    I love the poem. I love you. I want to hear your big and generous voice….I could hear it in my head reading your letter. Slappin rascals,being drunken with moons and breezes…Slap them rascals. I am so glad that you are back in your home. I’m sure that the nurses miss you. They’re lucky to have you and your wry humour around, but let’s avoid hospital stays. Enjoy that East coast weather some hot toddies,warm wool socks,good books, good friends. Again, wish I could give you a hug Greggy butt. Michael and I are thinking of you. Love, Keiko.

  21. #23 by Ginger on February 27, 2012 - 6:52 pm

    I am so glad that you are home. Knock that crap out of that rascal

  22. #24 by Elinore on February 27, 2012 - 7:41 pm

    You are a cool and brave guy.

  23. #25 by Matt on February 28, 2012 - 3:07 am

    Lots of love to you! Sending my best thoughts and vibes to you all the way from Maryland.
    Matt

  24. #26 by Sabrina on February 28, 2012 - 5:50 pm

    Woke up this morning thinking of you…

    I remember in Suzuki training with Kelly – one of the SITI co. members, before a particularly difficult exercise – she would send us off with a Japanese word: “GAM-BA-TE!” – which always seemed to mean gather your resources and your strength together under you and FIGHT HARD!

    So “GAMBETE,” Tate!

    –Sabrina

  25. #27 by lorenza on February 28, 2012 - 5:59 pm

    Hi Darling, Just read that you are home and even citing Baudelaire.. I learned French with that guy. No wonder my eyeballs started to twirl in their sockets… but that was a long time ago. Just so happy to hear you are back home. When you’re done doing that rascal in you’ve gotta take a nice long vacation. Hey, why not the home of Baudelaire… Yay, that’s it you’re coming with your beloved to France!!!! Chez Moi! Bisous mille fois! Lorenza

  26. #28 by World of Warplanes Hack on January 6, 2014 - 12:55 pm

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff
    prior to and you’re simply too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and
    the way by which you say it. You are making it entertaining
    and you continue to care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to learn much more
    from you. This is really a terrific website.

Leave a Reply

