Can’t think of a good title for this one

Just a quick update: this healing stuff is at least one full time job if not several!

Tate is home and started his outpatient radiation yesterday.  Thanks to all of you who have signed up for ‘ride duty.’ It is extremely helpful.

I went with him yesterday for the first day so that we could also ask some questions of nurse Karen (yes the nurse working with him is also a nurse named Karen. Not to be confused with the Karen that is also and nurse and Tate’s girlfriend).  It was a good session and we got our questions answered but Tate and I both agree that the care seems almost a bit haphazard. There is no one person overseeing his total care ie nutrition, emotional health, side effects etc.  Most often we don’t get information unless we ask for it which leaves us wondering, “what information are we not getting because we don’t know enough to ask about it?”  This is one of the main reasons we are looking for other possibilities.  Tomorrow Tate has an appointment at Hartford Hospital and were are getting his records sent to NIH, Yale and the American Cancer Center.  We have connections at the former two and the third has been been very highly recommended by two current patients.

Thanks again to all of you who have brought food by.  It has been a huge help.  We are still researching what the best diet is for Tate during treatment but his taste buds are already being affected by the chemo and he is saying what feels really good to him now are fresh veggies and things like lemonade.

I want to avoid speaking for him since he can write and tell you all how he is feeling.  I would however like to share one story that he and I were both a part of.  The night before he came home Tessa (my 6 1/2 year old daughter for those of you who don’t know her) was very nervous.  She began to cry and said she was afraid that Tate would not be the same.  That he would be too sick and that she would not be able to hug him.  I tried to explain that he is still the same person and that so far what he was feeling mostly was tired.  We talked about how his voice is still affected by the tumor but that hopefully that will change soon as the tumor shrinks.  She said that he had promised to take her to AC Petersons (a local ice-cream shop) and that that was “supposed to be their special thing.” I said I had a feeling that Tate would still want to go with her.

Tate came home on Saturday and on Sunday, he and Karen took Tessa to AC Petersons.  Apparently, while she was eating her cotton candy ice-cream, she put her head on his shoulder and said smiling, “I have my Tate back.”  Tate started to tear up when he told me this and I am tearing up just writing about it.  Tate said it reminded him of what Dr. Bernie Siegel says; That went battling a disease like cancer, it is essential to  identify very specific things that you want to live for.  I can definitely say that of the many, many reasons I want Tate to live beyond cancer, at the top of the list is so that he can continue to be an essential part of both my children’s lives.

Carry it on,

Julia

 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by Martin on February 28, 2012 - 7:01 pm

    Thanks so much for this story. I am pretty sure that time spent with Tessa can cure gout, malaise, dysentery, the bends, cooties and a whole host of other diseases to. I know she’s that powerful. You aren’t the only one tearing up. I’m so happy to know what hands Tate is in with the Rosenblatt clan… and a big special hug to Karen… (not the nurse, but I don’t discriminate where hugs are concerned).

    Love,
    Martin

  2. #2 by Rachel on February 28, 2012 - 7:02 pm

    And I’m sitting at my desk sobbing reading this. 15 Warrenton is such a special place.

  3. #3 by Harry on February 28, 2012 - 7:16 pm

    it sounds like a beautiful t-shirt: “I Have My Tate Back”. Tate, mate, thinking warm, healing thoughts of and for you every day. You are the man, Greg!

  4. #4 by Anonymous on February 28, 2012 - 7:46 pm

    Thank you Julia, nice to hear. 🙂 Hi to Tate. Elinore

  5. #5 by Julia B (@gooliab) on February 28, 2012 - 7:59 pm

    Thank you for all the updates. I love you all.

  6. #6 by Junie on February 28, 2012 - 8:06 pm

    Great, now I have eye make-up running down my face while reading this in my office. It is and always will be about our children who remind us of the simpliest things in life. @Harry, yes a T-shirt with “I Have My Tate Back” on a BIG cotton candy ice cream cone!
    Greg, with each day the prayer circle grows. You are surrounded by more love than you can imagine.

  7. #7 by Anonymous on February 28, 2012 - 8:11 pm

    Harry! OMG! Thanks for checking in!

  8. #8 by lobonick on February 28, 2012 - 8:11 pm

    beautiful…

  9. #9 by Elvy Stepinoff on February 28, 2012 - 8:44 pm

    Thanks for the update, and I hope your blogging about all of this is also a healing process for you. I had assumed he was at Hartford Hospital, I guess he isn’t. And yes, it is very frustrating not to have a team leader in your treatment. At least it keeps you all engaged, actively in Tate’s recovery. I’m also very glad that you are getting support from your friends nearby, esp. the rides and the food. Tate is most likely going to lose a great deal of weight, but that is to be expected. When Denny started chemo all those years ago, the oncology nurses told him what to expect, including hair loss…but one nurse took a marker and drew a circle along his bald SPOT and said…”but we are not responsible for that”. They helped set the tone for laughter and hope. Tell Tate a joke for me!!

  10. #10 by Melanie on February 28, 2012 - 8:47 pm

    Tears!! Love you guys. My firend Brita got diagnoised with breast cancer while pregnant with her second child. She did 4 rounds of Chemo and then decided to go the alternative route. Her blog is here and very inspiring: http://agirlwithcancer.wordpress.com/ They also set up an account at http://www.giveforward.com to help with living expenses and medical bills. Maybe you guys would be interested in that as well? XOXOXOXO

  11. #11 by Anonymous on February 29, 2012 - 2:07 am

    I am first of all quite excited that I figured out how to get to this section to write a comment
    I was told by Marcella Trowbridge of Cancer Centers of America in Chicago that her mother goes to and is cutting edge and has financial resources. She would be happy to talk to you, Tate, if you so wish.

    Having been a Bernie Siegal reader for 30 some odd years , I love seeing him as a part of this healing
    Debra
    with love

    I want my TShirt in cotton candy pink

  12. #12 by Nora on February 29, 2012 - 5:27 am

    Have any of you looked into support groups? I don’t know a lot about this stuff but I’m wondering if connecting with others locally who’ve been through the maze in this region would have advice/insight about questions to ask, what to expect, etc. Also, it’s got to be a situation of if-you-haven’t-been-through-it-you-don’t-really-know, and it’s would be good for you to have lots of connections with people who do really know. Thinking of you guys all the time.

Leave a Reply

