First Report from the Treatment Scene

To begin.  I divert a little.  To all of you who live in and around Hartford I want to warn you that there may be Tate sightings.  Julia is convinced that I need exercise, as do all Dr’s, nurses and friends in  general so, especially on mild days, you may catch sight of me walking around on Warrenton.  Should you see that, I encourage you to catch up to me, pretty easy thing to do as I ain’t no speedy hare right now, and say hello.  Better yet.  If you are looking to pay me a visit I encourage you to pick a day where we might walk together.  Your support has been so great since I started this fight that visualizing walking with friend(s) presents as medicine.  Good stuff.

BTW.  If you don’t live near and want to travel here from far away to walk with me — I would love that as well.

Okay.  So.

Had first check in with Oncologist today.  We made each other happy.  He, after looking me up and down several times declared, with a smile, that I looked much better than he thought I would.  I, because while sitting alone with Karen in his examination room I looked up to see that the only book he had on his counter was “Love, Medicine and Miracles” — by Bernie S. Siegel, M.D.  To my surprise, this man that I had completely summed up as an aloof scientist with no room in his soul for anything alternative is a person interested in Dr. Siegel’s work.  Blow my hair back!  Also, I believe he has politics that fit with mine.  He has mentioned more than once how rigid it is for immigrant people (he is Romanian) in this country and how tightly they have to toe the line here in  order to “not be in trouble”.

Report wise — White cells a little down, not concerned; red cells, normal; platelets, normal.  Pretty solid for having done a round of Chemo and 8 radiations.  Next Chemo on the 14-17.

BTW II. We got the 2nd opinion. Agrees with the diagnosis and thinks the treatment is aggressive and good. Opinions 3 – 5, I kid you not, are coming in the next week. Radiation slapped hard today.  Took me a few hours to recover.

 

Peace,

Tate

 

  1. #1 by Elvy Stepinoff on March 3, 2012 - 12:56 am

    So glad you like your dr. It is such a comfort to trust the person who is taking care of you. You sound great! The walking, the friends, the blogging…it’s all good! If you are feeling up to it, you (and Karen) are invited to Passover HERE on 4/14 (that’s the week after Easter) and we won’t expect a brisket.
    Lots of love

  2. #2 by Catherine on March 3, 2012 - 1:04 am

    Liking your dr. is such a great thing! Wish I could come over and take a walk with you. Please know that I’m praying and thinking amazing thoughts for you! Much, much love from the west coast! MMMMMMMWAHHH!

  3. #3 by Donna Raider on March 3, 2012 - 6:15 am

    Would love to walk with you but I am in California and you are in Hartford. I do send my prayers everyday and I have the whole Temple Isaiah congregation saying (prayers of healing) every Friday and Saturday for you Mesheberach
    Shabbat shalom
    Donna

  4. #4 by Marcia Morris on March 3, 2012 - 1:01 pm

    Tate! So good to hear good report… Attitude is everything!!! and yours can’t be beat! I am soooo with you my fellow cancer patient!!! Onward and forward we shall go!!!

  5. #5 by Anonymous on March 3, 2012 - 10:26 pm

    hang in there my friend…Watched my Mom go thru this..It was very hard and trying for her as I am sure it is for you. Thoughts, love and prayers from me and Eddie.. Love you !!!

  6. #6 by Mike Tate on March 5, 2012 - 8:00 pm

    Glad to hear you’re doing well UG,… fighting the good fight! Love you!

  7. #7 by Junie on March 5, 2012 - 8:19 pm

    As you take each step, we are walking along side of you with encouragement and prayers.

  8. #8 by Stewart Egle on December 31, 2015 - 3:08 am

    Thanks a good deal regarding delivering those with an exceptionally stunning probability to see vital critiques from this website.

  9. #9 by DJ Ortega on August 9, 2016 - 10:38 pm

    
    El encabezado First Report from the Treatment Scene
    es un engaño. Este asunto en realidad no tiene nada que
    ver con dji s1000 installation.

Leave a Reply

