A Second (or is it third?) opinion

I am posting today because I know some of you are curious about the results of the Sloan-Kettering re-test of my slides.

So.

The results are in and as much as I would have liked them to say — “Damn who made this diagnosis?”  “Whoever it was had their head firmly up their…….” — that ain’t the case. The report letter is very short and the statement is that it confirms the original diagnosis.  It does possess, for a small letter, a large number of technical references and numbers.  Luckily, in our immediate sphere of friends we have no shortage of Dr.’s to whom we can fax this and get some common language interpretation.

How do I feel?  I feel like I don’t have to re-fortify.  For the past few weeks I have been digging in my heels by researching, reading and preparing to fight Adenocarcinoma. I’ve been reading Bernie  Siegal; I have found out, to my joy, that my therapist, someone who has been privy to my deepest insecurities, fears and joys over the last 3 years is a Bernie Siegal fan — on Tuesday he gave me a great healing visualization; my good friend has hooked me up with a very wonderful, and I believe very powerful, cranial-sacral therapist; I’ve learned more in the last three weeks about nutrition (especially on what to eat to battle cancer) than I had in the entire previous 3,117 weeks of my life. .  What if the re-test had come back as jungle rot or some desert fever?  Re-directing ones energy, especially radically doing it in order to survive  is difficult and honestly is something I’m glad I didn’t have to do again. I’m glad to know my opponent.

This is the second life threatening fight  I’ve had in 60 years.  I won the first one, I’m gonna win this one.

Tate/Greg/Uncle Greg/Uncle HAM/U.G.

 

  1. #1 by Keiko Carreiro on March 15, 2012 - 8:23 pm

    Thinking of you on a rainy Thursday in San Francisco. I am so glad that you have a wonderfully tough head! Keep being positive. And you eating healthy? Halleluiah! Of course your Moms’ greens were very healthy….More of that greens and cabbage family,yum. I love you. Wish I could cook for you. I’m sure you have loving healthy cookers with you, as I recall you’re not a shabby chef yourself. XXXOOO

  2. #2 by Elvy Stepinoff on March 15, 2012 - 8:38 pm

    Glad you sound more determined than ever! Now that there is acceptance, you can put all your energy into the battle!! Sending all sorts of special thoughts your way………

  3. #3 by Nora on March 15, 2012 - 11:04 pm

    You are an inspiration. I’m proud of you. Go Tate Go!

  4. #4 by susan and jay on March 16, 2012 - 12:38 am

    Hocus pocus focus — you’re good at this!

  5. #5 by Chinma on March 16, 2012 - 3:36 am

    We are praying for you, and yours. Glad to know that you believe that you will win. God bless you.

  6. #6 by Bonnie on March 17, 2012 - 4:33 am

    YEAH!!! Or…black mambas! What if it was black mambas falling from trees? Not much ya can do there, eh? Knowing makes it possible to get the ducks in a row, make the spaghetti sauce, and get on with things. (Yes, that’s what I did after my diagnosis, I made spaghetti sauce. Go figure.) We Celebrate knowing where to channel the energy & we’re channeling tons of it your way! xoxoxo bons

  7. #7 by Nina on March 19, 2012 - 6:04 pm

    Greg, you sound tough, sane, and determined. Fierce in a good way. Knowing the opponent you’re facing and going at it with a positive attitude, a HUGE team of people who love and support you, and a whole-health approach to nutrition and spirit is the way to stay focused and send this thing packing. Wishing you well, and sending a whole lot of love,

    Nina

  8. #8 by lobonick on March 19, 2012 - 11:36 pm

    so beautiful.. inspiring..

  9. #9 by click here on August 3, 2012 - 3:14 am

    Wow, this piece of writing is good, my younger sister is analyzing these things,
    thus I am going to inform her.

  10. #10 by Mens fitness workouts on August 26, 2012 - 6:44 pm

    What’s up to every one, the contents present at this website are genuinely remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  11. #11 by sensual on December 31, 2012 - 2:54 pm

    Enjoy sensual understanding behind the 50 shades bestseller with Journey into tantric secrets

  12. #12 by Tiffiny on August 14, 2013 - 3:35 pm

    If you are a small company struggling in this economy it’s really worth trying to get your name out there and the products and services you can offer by exhibiting at exhibitions and trade shows in your niche. An alternative to a pop-up stand is the banner stand.

  13. #13 by Hottest bridal shoes shop on August 24, 2013 - 3:49 pm

    Fine way of describing, and fastidious post to obtain
    information concerning my presentation subject, which i am going to convey in university.

Leave a Reply

