I’ve Been Looking for a New Word

  1. I have been wanting to update the blog for sometime now, but I have come up  against a block so I had to wait til I could work through it before I could update you all as to where I stand. So the block has been a word and the word is metastasis.

I hate the word as I hate hell, all Montagues and thee.  The Bard creeps into the discourse!

But I really don’t like the word.  It feels so clinical.  Too clinical to accurately describe something that is going on in a human body.  So I decided not to write until I could come up with something less laboratory like.  Which I think I have done. So the deal is the Cancer likes my body and has decided to inhabit my ribs, hips and shoulders for a bit. Wandering around.   We of course find this totally unacceptable. So a different Chemo regime has been adopted.   Had my first treatment on Monday.  The side effects have been very rough.  I actually spent my first full day in bed on Wednesday.  Couldn’t get up!

I have decided on a new treatment center.   Cancer Treatment Centers of America.  Treat the entire organism, the entire person, not just the disease, so I’m moving on from St. Francis in Hartford and on to integrative medicine.  Nutrition classes, healthy food, acupuncture, a case worker.  This might not seem like a big deal but I tell you, my treatment has seemed/felt so slapdash the last few months that some  good organization with concentration on my whole being is looking to me right now like an oasis in the desert!

I am looking forward to this switch.

Tate

 

 

  1. #1 by Sabrina on May 6, 2012 - 10:05 pm

    My friend BJ went with them – thought they were excellent!
    Will be interested to know what you think.

    Pulling for you! –Sabrina

  2. #2 by Rose Langston Moss on May 6, 2012 - 10:42 pm

    Hi Greg, my friend went with them also but the one in Illinois. She received excellent care…very holistic. Which center will you be going to? Sending prayers your way!

    Rose Moss…

  3. #3 by Elvy Stepinoff on May 6, 2012 - 11:36 pm

    Sorry to hear of the new development…. but so pleased that your spirit is still totally intact. Good luck with the new regimen…..and you will still kick ass!! Love from Elvy and Denny

  4. #4 by Anonymous on May 7, 2012 - 12:52 am

    Wishing you all the best — it sounds like a good move to me. Where is the Treatment Center?

  5. #5 by Anonymous on May 7, 2012 - 1:06 am

    Just spent the last couple hrs checking out CTCA Web site. Not only does their approach sound humanistic, holistic and thoughtful but pretty good looking stats. Can’t wait to hear more. Thinking of you and your enormous extended sphere of influence constantly. Much love, Ellen

  6. #6 by Mari on May 7, 2012 - 1:14 am

    It is a true shame that St Francis could not give you the total care you deserve and that now you have to go farther away fom us, you extended family, but it sounds as if th Cancer Center in Chicago will be everything you need. I am glad about that.

  7. #7 by ccorco1965 on May 7, 2012 - 1:56 am

    Well then we all just need to refocus our prayers and good energy on the whole Greg! Never mind focusing on just one part, shine that big light all over you. We Quakers have this tradition of holding people in the light. Folks who have been held report they feel the light. You are in my light watch my friend. I hope you feel the warm beautiful light I’m sending you. Chris O

  8. #8 by me on May 7, 2012 - 2:22 am

    Are you going to be spending a lot of time out of state for that then?

  9. #9 by Chinma on May 7, 2012 - 2:56 am

    Good luck. We continue to pray for you.
    Chinma

  10. #10 by Anonymous on May 7, 2012 - 11:39 am

    doesn’t matter where you are, your spirit will remain here—go and kick the crap out of the cancer that likes your beautiful bod too freaking damn much. thoughts of healing and recovery go with you whereever you go. hugs, kathy h

  11. #11 by Caitlynne on May 7, 2012 - 12:39 pm

    I had a loved one who went to Cancer Treatment Centers and it changed her life. She said suddenly she felt armed for the fight in ways she never knew she needed to be. Hope it’s the same feeling for you. When do you head out to Chicago? I’m planning a trip to CT this summer and was hoping to see you. Hope we don’t miss you.

  12. #12 by Donna Raider on May 9, 2012 - 5:48 am

    My thoughts and prayer are with you Greg. I just came one from my Women’s Kabbalah Circle and sent a special healing prayer your way.

  13. #13 by Melanie on May 10, 2012 - 7:52 pm

    Tate – my friend Brita just took this approach. She discovered stage 2 breast cancer while pregnant and did the chemo route until it didn’t feel right anymore. She went alternative and is now cancer free! Here’s the inspiring blog post she did when she made the choice to change treatment paths: http://agirlwithcancer.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/surprise/

  1. I've Been Looking for a New Word « Greg Tate Updates Treatment World

Leave a Reply

