George Harrison knew a thing or two

Dear friends,

Thank you for the outpouring of support after Julia’s last post. We continue to feel the love in so many ways here at our household. I’m writing about one very specific way we need your help right now to do something for Tate. This story starts with an email from our friend Dave Rozza, who just wanted to see if there was anything he could do to help. Well Julia thought, there is one thing.

Most of you know that Tate resides on our third floor at 15 Warrenton Ave.  When we bought the house, we each chose our preferred room and Tate was clear that as an introvert living in an intentional community, he need some of his own space.  His room is part of the attic, which we say is a “finished attic” but we’ve always had to put the “finished” in quotes for sure. The previous owners had done the work, but with some substandard materials and/or workmanship, in a way that has deteriorated in an alarming way.  There is actually debris falling from between the boards in the ceiling. And just when we needed the space to be a good respite place for Tate to recover in.  As Julia knew, Dave is a very handy guy. We asked him to come over and look at it.

Here are some pics:

Yep, this one is definitely loose.

Dave discovers what was under the sheet the previous owner’s had tacked over this place on the ceiling

Long story short, there is a lot of work on this room that needs to be done to make it a place fit for Tate to come home to, when he returns in a few weeks from the Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Chicago. Dave called in a contractor friend he’s done work with, and we got a quote from him. We can totally gut and re-sheetrock Tate’s room, and get it lookin’ good for his return, all for $6,000.

That’s where this blog post comes in. I’m asking for your donations to help us raise this money, which we need to do in a short amount of time to get the work done. We were so awed by your generosity when we first raised money in support of Tate’s medical bills, I admit it feels difficult to ask you a few months later for this project. But we know this will be a huge quality of life improvement for Tate.

When I sat down to write this post, the very first thing that popped into my head was George Harrison singing “I’ve got my mind set on you.” Specifically, the part that admits “It’s gonna take money, a whole lotta spending money!” That’s a fact. But don’t we all have our mind set on Tate? We know it’s going to take everything George said it will — money, patience and time — but from what I’ve seen I know there are people who want to provide some of each.

I’ve got my mind set on you

But it’s gonna take money
a whole lotta spending money

It’s gonna take plenty of money to do it right child.
It’s gonna take time
a whole lotta precious time

It’s gonna take patience and time to do it
To do it, to do it’
to do it, to do it right child.”

If you are reading this on the website, you just need to hit the yellow “Donate” button in the right sidebar to donate. If you are reading this in your email, just click here to be taken to the website, and click the yellow button on the top right hand side. For those of you who prefer checks, please send to 15 Warrenton Ave, Hartford CT 06105.

many, many thanks. with love.

Maureen

  1. #1 by Elvy Stepinoff on May 24, 2012 - 3:25 pm

    Maureen, there doesn’t seem to be a connection between your blog and paypal. When I click on the donation button, I get to paypal, but it is an ERROR notice. Also, on the email right sidebar there is no paypal button, just credit card buttons. If this is easily fixed, let me know. If not, let me know and I’ll donate some other way.
    Love to you all.

    • #2 by mauxwelch on May 24, 2012 - 8:33 pm

      Hi Elvy,
      The links I placed were incorrect in the text, I get a ‘time out’ error when I clicked them. So I’ve removed them from the post. However, I just did a test of the donate button and it allowed me to donate. I wanted to ask you what kind of web browser you were using– I think that might have something to do with it. I’ll keep trouble shooting this until we can get it going.

      • #3 by Elvy Stepinoff on May 24, 2012 - 9:30 pm

        Thanks Maureen,
        I, too have a Mac and use Safari, so that might be the problem. I’ll try the donate button later and let you know.

      • #4 by Elvy Stepinoff on May 24, 2012 - 9:33 pm

        It worked!! I clicked on the Donate button and it took me to paypal, even though paypal isn’t shown next to the donate button.

  2. #5 by Dave & Jean on May 24, 2012 - 4:07 pm

    We’re getting the same problem here.

    • #6 by mauxwelch on May 24, 2012 - 8:33 pm

      Hi Dave & Jean,
      The links I placed were incorrect in the text, I get a ‘time out’ error when I clicked them. So I’ve removed them from the post.

      However, I just did a test of the donate button and it allowed me to donate. I wanted to ask you what kind of web browser you were using– I think that might have something to do with it. I’ll keep trouble shooting this until we can get it going.

  3. #7 by juliabrosenblatt on May 24, 2012 - 4:26 pm

    Uh oh! Ok Maureen is serving lunch at the Pond House as we speak but I’ll text her and she can take a look at it when her shift is over. Thanks you guys!
    Julia

  4. #9 by Dave & Jean on May 24, 2012 - 9:08 pm

    I tried it on my computer that uses Firefox & Jean’s that uses Safari & we got the same error message on each.

  5. #10 by Dave & Jean on May 24, 2012 - 10:30 pm

    I’m a dope. I didn’t follow directions. If you’re a dope & click on the hyperlink “donation” in the body of the post you get the error message. If you follow directions you get to donate money. Don’t be a dope, donate money.

  1. PayPay link now functioning! « Greg Tate Updates

Leave a Reply

