The Hardest part is coming up with a title!

Hi all –

After sitting here for about 15 minutes trying to think up a title….I decided to skip that part and start writing the stuff that really matters. I’m here now with Uncle Greg in his room at the Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Zion, Illinois. I got here last night and this was our first stop. I left here last night and I was extremely concerned about my Uncle Greg (being very honest). He was disoriented and very confused. He couldn’t manage to keep himself awake. When we asked him several times if he knew who I was….he couldn’t place me. As hard as I tried….I couldn’t hold back the tears. My Mom and I had a good cry….and a good sign was that it actually seemed to concern Uncle Greg. I got home and looked forward to seeing some progress today.

This morning….we walked into the room….and Uncle Greg proudly said “Hey guys”. He knew who we both were and when I told him he didn’t know me last night, he said “BULL”. He knows the year is 2012, he knows that he lives in Hartford, Connecticut, and he knows that the President of the United States is Barack Obama (that of course made me very happy)!! When we asked him how he was feeling today, he told us great. My mother and I were ecstatic. It seems like he’s doing better.

The Doctors have identified that he does have an infection….and they have him on antibiotics….which seem to be working. His calcium levels were extremely high….and they’re back to normal now. They seem to think that the disorientation could be from the infection. They’re hoping that over the next couple of days….once the infection is under control….he will start feeling much better. As of now….they’re thinking that he will still be able to have the radiation that was already planned for Tuesday.

The big thing is….he seems to have made major progress since yesterday. He’s looking good! He talked to Karen today and told her that he loves her. He got a roommate this morning….and the nurse said to his roommate….”we’re going to get you started on lots of fluids.” Uncle Greg promptly said, “who the hell are they putting on lots of fluid?” To me….that’s a good sign. He’s aware of his surroundings. And when I asked him who he is to me….he sternly proclaimed “I’m your Uncle HAM!” Sounds to me like he’s got a lot of fight in him!!

Uncle Greg received a card from Bonnie to our house this week. My mom put it in front of him and asked him to read it. He got through the first couple of lines with no problems. My Mom read the rest to him….and he smiled really wide the whole time. So keep the notes and letters coming!! Just let us know….and we can send you our address. Mom and I will keep folks updated throughout this week.

With lots of love…..

Ash šŸ™‚

  1. #1 by Gitta Schulz on May 27, 2012 - 8:50 pm

    Dear Ash,
    thanks for a GREAT post!
    I’m a friend of Tate’s and live in Paris right now. I’d love to send him a card via you, so would you please either post your address, or email it to me?
    Thanks so much.
    Gitta

    • #2 by ashleytategilmore on May 28, 2012 - 2:28 pm

      Hi Gitta –

      I tried to send this a minute ago….but out internet connection went down. So I’m trying again. Our address is below.

      Gregory Tate
      c/o – Desiree Tate
      1545 West Jackson Blvd.
      Chicago, Illinois 60607

      Thank you so much!! I’m sure he’ll be happy to receive your note!!

      Ash šŸ™‚

  2. #3 by Eliot Nerenberg and Amy Jaffe on May 27, 2012 - 10:34 pm

    Dear Ash,

    We are also friends of Tate,from Hartford. Can you send us an address where we can send a card and a note to Tate?

    Thanks,

    Eliot and Amy
    hersheynn@aol.com

    • #4 by ashleytategilmore on May 28, 2012 - 2:32 pm

      Hi Eliot and Amy –

      Thanks so much for your comment. I just realized that it seems like everyone can see comment replies….so you may have sen the last one with the address. Just in case….please see below.

      Gregory Tate
      c/o – Desiree Tate
      1545 West Jackson Blvd.
      Chicago, Illinois 60607

      Thank you so much!!

      Ash šŸ™‚

  3. #5 by pamela.o.bates@gmail.com Bates on May 27, 2012 - 10:45 pm

    Please send your address. I have a card I would like to send.

    • #6 by ashleytategilmore on May 28, 2012 - 2:34 pm

      Hi Pamela –

      Please see below.

      Gregory Tate
      c/o – Desiree Tate
      1545 West Jackson Blvd.
      Chicago, Illinois 60607

      Thank you so much!!

      Ashley šŸ™‚

  4. #7 by Lisa Marlene Myrick on May 27, 2012 - 11:33 pm

    Ashley, thank you so much for your honest and open observations of your Uncle. I really appreciate it. I, too have a card i’d like to send. if I send it to The Cancer Treatment Center, will he get it that way?

    • #8 by ashleytategilmore on May 28, 2012 - 2:35 pm

      Hey Lisa –

      The best way to get something to him is to send to my Mom’s house. We’ve been going out there each day to see him….and we’ll take it with us. Our address is below.

      Gregory Tate
      c/o – Desiree Tate
      1545 West Jackson Blvd.
      Chicago, Illinois 60607

      Thank you so much!! I’m sure he’ll be happy to receive your note!!

      Ash šŸ™‚

  5. #9 by JoAnne Bauer on May 28, 2012 - 2:32 am

    very heartfelt post — thanks

  6. #10 by Bonnie on May 28, 2012 - 4:46 am

    Ashley, thank you so much. We have been so worried & felt like we just didn’t know what was going on. I can’t tell you how much your post means to me. Keep ’em coming, please. Lots of love to all, Bonnie

    • #11 by ashleytategilmore on May 28, 2012 - 2:46 pm

      Hey Bonnie –

      I’ve been thinking about calling you literally every day for the past week. You’ve just been on my mind. It was so good to read the note from you to Uncle Greg. He seriously read the first part and smiled when he said “Dearest T”. It was awesome!! Thank you so much!!
      I’ve got his phone….so I’ll give you a buzz later this week when he gets back into radiation and give you guys another update.

      Hope all is well!!

      Love….

      Ash šŸ™‚

  7. #12 by Anonymous on May 29, 2012 - 7:09 pm

    Hi Ash… Tate has been a very dear friend of mine for over 25 years…He is one of my best friends ever…Known him since Napa Ca days..We have always been there for each other through out our lives…He is so very important to me and extremely influencial to my 2 boys…Please keep me updated and if OK would love to have an address to send mail to Tate…My email—gill.ginny4@gmail.com….phone # 816-223-0246…when you see him next time please give him kisses and hugs from ginny, eddie and brian… Tell him he is in our thoughts and prayers and that we love him so very much…
    Thank you
    Ginny Gill

  8. #13 by Sheron Schryver on October 26, 2012 - 4:27 pm

    It does not cost much to learn WordPress with our 25 WP training video

  9. #14 by Regina Vanderzwaag on October 27, 2012 - 5:53 pm

    Learning WordPress is a Breeze with WP trainingvideo , 25 good qulaity video with clear instruction

  10. #15 by wordpress tutorial video on October 27, 2012 - 5:54 pm

    WordPress is easy to use and easy to setup. That’s why millions of people every day use it to create their own site,learn at wptrainingvideo

Leave a Reply

